Monday, December 14, 2009

Foxx names new City Council committees

Mayor Anthony Foxx today announced his assignments of City Council members to the council's eight committees, and a few things stand out.
First: The Democrats are in charge, in a big way.
With an 8-3 majority on the council, that may be expected. But even with a 7-4 majority, Democrats were in the minority on some council committees under Pat McCrory. Foxx has named Democrats as chairmen of six of the eight committees, and Democrats hold a majority on all eight. In fact, on a majority of the committees, Democrats hold four of five seats.
These committees study and debate policy before making recommendations to the full council.
Other notable changes: Foxx made economic development its own committee and joined planning with transportation. Democrat Susan Burgess replaces John Lassiter as economic development chairman, and four of its five members are Democrats.
Republican Edwin Peacock chairs the Environment committee, and Republican Warren Cooksey chairs the Restructuring Government committee.

The full lineup:

Housing and Neighborhood Development: This committee provides comprehensive initiatives designed to foster economic development and improve quality of life issues in Charlotte's neighborhoods and business areas.
Committee members: James Mitchell (Chair), Warren Turner (Vice Chair), Michael Barnes, Warren Cooksey, and Patrick Cannon.

Community Safety: This committee focuses on initiatives to proactively identify and address issues related to crime, disorder, and personal safety to ensure citizens feel safe in the areas where they live, work, and spend their leisure time.
Committee members: Patrick Cannon (Chair), Patsy Kinsey (Vice Chair), Susan Burgess, Andy Dulin, and Edwin Peacock.

Transportation and Planning: This committee focuses on the City and region's transportation network including roads, mass transit, pedestrian and bicycle connections as well as planning to address our region's transportation infrastructure.
Committee members: David Howard (Chair), Michael Barnes (Vice Chair), Warren Cooksey, Susan Burgess, and Patsy Kinsey.

Economic Development: This Committee works to provide direction that supports development of an educated and trained work force, fosters partnerships to aid local economic growth, retains and attracts quality businesses, supports business development and contributes to the economy.
Committee members: Susan Burgess (Chair), James Mitchell (Vice Chair), Nancy Carter, Patsy Kinsey, and Andy Dulin.

Environment: This Committee focuses on City policies for air and water quality, land preservation, and energy and resource conservation by adopting best practices and delivering public services in a manner based on sound environmental practices.
Committee members: Edwin Peacock (Chair), Nancy Carter (Vice Chair), Susan Burgess, David Howard, and Andy Dulin.

Budget: This Committee works with City staff to review and prioritize issues affecting the City's budget.
Committee members: Michael Barnes (Chair), Andy Dulin (Vice Chair), David Howard, Edwin Peacock, and Nancy Carter.

Restructuring Government: This Committee examines policies and programs in order to provide citizens the best service at the lowest cost and highest efficiency.
Committee members: Warren Cooksey (Chair), Patrick Cannon (Vice Chair), James Mitchell, Patsy Kinsey, and Warren Turner.

Government Affairs: This Committee discusses opportunities and initiatives to pursue with State and Federal government in support of City priorities.
Committee members: Nancy Carter (Chair), Warren Turner (Vice Chair), Susan Burgess, Andy Dulin, and Patrick Cannon.

- Posted by Taylor Batten (with an assist from Mary Newsom)


Anonymous said...

A republican in charge of the environmental committee? Are we going to start using wolves to protect the sheep?